By (Matthew Speakman)

In front of 74,326 fans, the Alabama Crimson Tide held its annual A-Day game. Alabama’s offense shined early on, with the quarterbacks passing for a combined 495 yards in the first half of the spring game.

Freshman Jerry Jeudy, who has been called a clone of Calvin Ridley, took home the game’s MVP honors after a 134-yard performance that included two touchdown catches. Below is a list of the awards Alabama hands out after the spring season.


Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter Award – Rashaan Evans, Hale Hentges

Jerry Duncan “I Like to Practice” Award – Keith Holcombe, Jamar King, Irv Smith

Billy Neighbors Defensive Lineman Award – Johnny Dwight, Da’Ron Payne

Paul Crane Offensive Lineman Award – Ross Pierschbacher, Jonah Williams

Bobby Johns Defensive Back Award – Anthony Averett, Ronnie Harrison

Johnny Musso Offensive Back Award – Josh Jacobs

Ray Perkins Receiver Award – Calvin Ridley

Woodrow Lowe Linebacker Award – Anfernee Jennings

Derrick Thomas Community Service Award – Josh Casher, Miller Forristall, JK Scott

Bear Bryant Outstanding Non-Scholarship Award – Bo Grant, Austin Johnson, Donnie Lee, Zavier Mapp, Jacob Parker, Daniel Powell

Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman Award – Raekwon Davis, Trevon Diggs, Terrell Hall, Najee Harris, Dylan Moses, Brian Robinson, Tua Tagovailoa

Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award – Tony Brown, Lester Cotton, Robert Foster, Xavian Marks, TJ Simmons, Quinnen Williams, Matt Womack

Mal Moore Leadership Award – Shaun Dion Hamilton, Jalen Hurts, Bo Scarbrough

Sylvester Croom Commitment to Excellence Award – Bradley Bozeman, Minkah Fitzpatrick

Dwight Stephenson Lineman of the A-Day Game Award – Raekwon Davis

Dixie Howell Memorial Most Valuable Player of the A-Day Game Award – Jerry Jeudy

…read more

Source:: The Crimson White Sports