By (CW Staff)

On Saturday, Derrick Henry became the University of Alabama’s second Heisman winner. He joins the 2009 victor, former Alabama running back Mark Ingram.

Henry finished with 1,832 points to become the 81st Heisman Memorial Trophy winner. The runner-up, Christian McCaffrey, finished with 1,539 points leaving the last finalist, Deshaun Watson, to finish with 1,165 points. Quarterbacks Baker Mayfield and Keenan Reynolds rounded out the top five. 

Henry finished first in five-of-six voting regions. McCaffrey won the far west region, but Henry still finished second in that region. 

Henry became the first running back to win the award and the 41st overall running back to bring home the award. He is also the twelfth SEC Heisman victor and the fourth SEC victor in the last seven years. 

Despite his near-sweep of the regions, the 2015 ballot was the closest the vote has been since Ingram won it over former Stanford running back Toby Gerhart. Alabama now becomes one of 10 schools to produce two Heisman winners in a seven year span.

…read more

Source:: The Crimson White Sports