By (CW Staff)

Four former Alabama football players were named to the Football Writers Association of America’s 75th Anniversary All-America team on Thursday morning, UA Athletics announced via press release. Lineman John Hannah and linebacker Derrick Thomas were first team selections, while offensive lineman Barrett Jones and and linebacker Lee Roy Jordan were named to the third team.

The FWAA, founded in 1941, began picking All-America teams in 1944. This list honors the association’s All-America teams from its inception through the 2014 season.

Hannah was a member of the 1972 All-america team. He also earned the Jacob’s trophy that year, and went on to be named to both the college and pro football hall of fame. Thomas earned a place on the 1988 team, after winning the Butkus award for his 27 sacks on the season. He still holds the single game, season, and career records for sacks with the Alabama program.

Jones was named to two FWAA All-America teams in both 2011 and 2012. He started all four seasons during his time with the program, and became the university’s only William V. Campbell Trophy winner. Jordan was named to the 1962 team, and was MVP of the 1963 Orange Bowl, posting 31 tackles in Alabama’s 17-0 win over Oklahoma. He was voted Alabama’s player of the decade for the 1960s.

…read more

Source:: The Crimson White Sports